Stalwarts praised for sterling service

Published on: 19 Mar 2014

Tribute has been paid to three long-standing members of the Lake District National Park Authority.

Notching-up 34 years between them, Chairman Bill Jefferson today described their contributions as outstanding.

Joining the authority in 1996, John Hayton, of Loweswater, near Cockermouth, has been deputy chairman and served on key committees, including development control, which he chaired.

Retiring on grounds of ill health, his service went above and beyond all expectations, said Bill.

He continued: "The likes of John Hayton, who has experience as a farmer and hotelier, has never been seen before and is unlikely to be seen again.

"He loves the national park, its work and every single aspect of it. A man more dedicated, you will never meet."

Appointed by Defra's Secretary of State for a statutory eight-year period, Bryan Gray and Joanne Whitaker told a full authority meeting that their time overseeing the national park had been privileged and special.

Both have extensive experience in public life. Penrith-based Bryan was chairman of Northwest Regional Development Agency and is currently chairman of Westmorland Ltd, which operates motorway services.

Joanne, of Bolton, has been an advisor to the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister and Regional Improvement and Efficiency Network.

Bill Jefferson added that all three have given exemplary service and would be greatly missed.

Defra is expected to announce its new Secretary of State appointments shortly.

Share this page