The voice of the people

Our members represent the public interest, and are appointed by various public bodies.

We have 20 members made up of:

  • 5 appointed by Cumbria County Council
  • 5 by the District Councils with areas in the National Park which are Allerdale, Copeland, Eden and South Lakeland
  • 10 appointed by the Secretary of State to represent the national interest and Parish Councils in the National Park.

Their business is conducted through meetings of the Authority and its committees. They follow a Members Code of Conduct - Member Code of Conduct (PDF). The process for dealing with complaints against Members is set out in our Complaints Procedure (PDF).

Members' Allowances Scheme (PDF) includes details about allowances such as travel and subsistence.

How are members selected?

Parish Councillors are appointed through a local election process administered by the Cumbrian Association of Local Councils.  Members elected via this process are ratified by the Secretary of State.

The County Council and District Councils nominate their candidates although they do not represent the council they come from.

Secretary of State national vacancies are widely advertised.  The appointment process involves interviews of applicants. The term of those appointed to the Authority is initially for four years but can be extended to a maximum of eight years in total.

Below is a video from the members away day at Glaramara 2019.

Contact details

Alan Barry

Jim Bland

Hugh Branney

Michael Carter

Will Clark

Nicky Cockburn

Geoff Davies

Judith Derbyshire

Vicky Hughes

Tiffany Hunt MBE - Chair

Jim Jackson

Mark Kidd

Tony Lywood

Sabine Mosner

Alan Mackenzie

Richard Outhwaite

Jay Sayers

James Stuart

Paul Turner

Ian Wharton

For members' contact details, simply click their name in the navigation or contact Heather McClure, Member Services Coordinator via email