Ranger explaining equipment to a volunteer copyright LDNPA
Ranger explaining equipment to a volunteer

Rangers

Ranger Area Maps

To find out which Ranger is responsible for which area, please take a look at our maps:

@LakesRangers on Twitter

Here's the latest from our rangers:

Field Rangers

We have six Field Rangers and two Lead Field Rangers. Field Rangers are the first point of contact for any Rights of Way issues. They have a specific practical role in managing public access and National Park Authority owned properties.

Larry Cowper

larry.cowper@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 07787 137435

Covers the parishes of North Ennerdale, Lamplugh, Loweswater, Blindbothel, Embleton, Setmurthy, Wythop, Lorton, Above Derwent, Buttermere and Brackenthwaite and Borrowdale.

Tom Hrynkow

tom.hrynkow@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 07770 398161

Covers the parishes of Blindcrake, Bewaldeth and Snittlegarth, Ireby and UIdale, Bassenthwaite, Underskiddaw, Keswick, Threlkeld, West Matterdale, St John's, Castlerigg and Wythburn and Patterdale.

Scott Henderson

scott.henderson@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 07799 793845

Covers the parishes of Caldbeck, Mungrisdale, Hutton, East Matterdale, Martindale, Dacre, Barton, Askham, Lowther, Thrimby, Bampton and Shap Rural.

Phil Clague

phil.clague@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 07776 227764

Covers the parishes of Ennerdale and Kinniside South, St Bridget Beskermet, Ponsonby, Gosforth, Wasdale, Irton with Santon, Eskdale, Drigg and Carleton, Muncaster, Ulpha, Waberthwaite, Bootle, Whicham and Millom Without.

Andrew Wilkinson

andrew.wilkinson@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 07747 656057

Covers the parishes of Dunnerdale-with-Seathwaite, Broughton West, Kirkby Ireleth, Blawith and Subberthwaite, Lowick, Torver, Coniston, Hawkshead, Claife, Sattterthwaite, Colton, Haverthwaite, Staveley-in-Cartmel and Broughton East.

Dave Bell

dave.bell@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 07747 767156

Covers the parishes of Langdales, Grasmere, Rydal and Loughrigg, Skelwith, Ambleside, Troutbeck, Windermere, Hugill. Kentmere, Over Staveley. Nether Staveley, Longsleddale, Fawcett Forest, Whitwell and Selside, Strickland Roger, Crook, Strickland Ketel, Underbarrow and Bradleyfield, Crosthwaite and Lyth, Cartmel Fell, Upper Allithwaite, Witherslack, Meathop and Ulpha.

Lead Field Ranger North: Angus Titterington

angus.titterington@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 07740 419198

Lead Field Ranger South: David Bulman

david.bulman@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 07715 165283

Distinctive Area Park Management Rangers

Five Park Management Rangers work in the National Park's distinctive areas - identified during the Local Development Framework consultation. They are the first point of contact for local communities for community projects and new local initiatives.

They focus on delivering and facilitating larger landscape scale projects and work closely with our planning teams to provide a joined up and area based service.

Pete Barron

pete.barron@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 01768 871404

Covers the parishes of Loweswater, Blindbothel, Embleton, Setmurthy, Wythop, Lorton, Above Derwent, Buttermere and Brackenthwaite, Borrowdale, Blindcrake, Bewaldeth and Snittlegarth, Ireby and UIdale, Bassenthwaite, Caldbeck, Underskiddaw, Keswick, Threlkeld, St John's, Castlerigg and Wythburn.

Rec Cathey

rebecca.cathey@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 01768 871 407

Covers the parishes of Mungrisdale, Hutton, Matterdale, Patterdale, Martindale, Dacre, Barton, Askham, Lowther, Thrimby, Bampton and Shap Rural.

Graham Standring

graham.standring@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 01539 792 698 ext. 2734

Covers the parishes of Lamplugh, Ennerdale and Kinniside, St Bridget Beskermet, Ponsonby, Gosforth, Wasdale, Irton with Santon, Eskdale, Drigg and Carleton, Muncaster, Ulpha, Waberthwaite, Bootle, Whicham, Millom Without and Dunnerdale-with-Seathwaite.

Dave Pickup

david.pickup@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 01539 792698 ext 2638

Covers the parishes of Broughton West, Kirkby Ireleth, Blawith and Subberthwaite, Lowick, Torver, Coniston, Egton With Newland, Hawkshead, Claife, Sattterthwaite, Colton and Haverthwaite

Steve Tatlock

steve.tatlock@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 01539 792698 ext 2733

Covers the parishes of Langdales, Grasmere, Rydal and Loughrigg, Skelwith, Ambleside, Troutbeck, Windermere, Hugill. Kentmere, Over Staveley. Nether Staveley, Longsleddale, Fawcett Forest, Whitwell and Selside, Strickland Roger, Crook, Strickland Ketel, Underbarrow and Bradleyfield, Crosthwaite and Lyth, Cartmel Fell, Upper Allithwaite, Witherslack, Staveley-in-Cartmel, Meathop and Ulpha and Broughton East.

Park Management Rangers with a Park-wide role

Val Edmondson

val.edmondson@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 01768 871405

Projects: Environmental Land Management Service, Non-Native Species

Sara Spicer

sara.spicer@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 01539 792719

Projects: Lakes and Water Catchments

David Switzer

david.switzer@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 01539 792711

Projects: Commons

Leaders

Park Management Leader North: Chris Tomlin

chris.tomlin@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 01768 871402

Park Management Leader South: Steve Gaskell

steven.gaskell@lakedistrict.gov.uk or call 01539 792604